California has a primary seatbelt law which requires every passenger in the car, including the driver, to wear a seatbelt at all times. If drivers are stopped and found to be in violation, law enforcement will issue citations without warning. Tickets for first seatbelt violations range from $80 to $91 for adults and $330 to $401 for children under age 16, depending on the county. Additionally, children age 12 and under are required to ride properly restrained in the back seat.
"We're doing well with nearly 95 percent buckling up, fourth highest in the nation," said Christopher J. Murphy, director of the California Office of Traffic Safety. "That's 1.5 million more people protected from death and injury by using seatbelts since the Click It or Ticket campaign started in 2005. But we can do better yet."
This story contains 225 words.
If you are a paid subscriber, check to make sure you have logged in. Otherwise our system cannot recognize you as having full free access to our site.
If you are a paid print subscriber and haven't yet set up an online account, click here to get your online account activated.