The San Ramon Police Department, along with sheriffs and California Highway Patrol departments statewide, will focus on enforcing seat belt laws with motorists as part of the "Click It or Ticket" campaign from now until June 1.
"Memorial Day weekend kicks off summer vacation season, and we want to ensure that everyone arrives at their destination safe and sound," said San Ramon Police Sgt. Pat Cerruti. "If you are not wearing your seat belt, you will be ticketed."
A violation for an unbuckled vehicle occupant over 16 years old is a minimum of $161 for a first offense. The penalty fee for not properly buckling up a child under the age of 16 is a minimum of $490 per child for the first offense, and a violation point could be added to the driver's record. If the parent is not in the vehicle, the driver gets the ticket.
According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, traffic fatalities have increased nationwide for the first time in five years.
"Wearing a seat belt is one of the easiest and best things you can do to protect yourself in the event of a car crash," said Rhonda Craft, Director of the California Office of Traffic Safety. "Taking a few moments to properly secure yourself and all your passengers before going on your way could mean the difference between life and death."