Scholars honored by local AAUW branch

Ten women share in $10,775 worth of scholarships

Ten college women on various academic journeys received scholarships from the Danville-Alamo-Walnut Creek branch of the American Association of University Women (AAUW) last week.

The local AAUW held its installation and awards ceremony on May 29 at Round Hill Country Club in Alamo, where the winners of 10 scholarships totaling $10,775 were announced.

The funding for these awards came from the group's Holiday Home Tour fundraising event in which five Alamo residents elaborately decorate their homes for the winter holidays and invite visitors to take a tour.

Eligibility to receive these monetary awards required that applicants be female and live in the Walnut Creek area (or resided there during high school) or have graduated from a high school within the San Ramon Valley Unified School District.

Other criteria included maintaining "an above average academic record, actively involved in school and/or community activities, and possess a desire to pursue educational and career goals," according to the scholarship application guidelines.

Scholarship recipients were:

* Jennifer Ashley Horton is at UC Berkeley and is majoring in integrative biology. She graduated from San Ramon Valley High in 2011.  She plans to be an orthopedic surgeon and she said she hopes to "develop a method of ACL reconstruction that will not harm the grow plates of adolescents." 

* Sandra Camille Hui is at UC San Diego and is majoring in bio informatics or computer science research. She graduated from Monte Vista High in 2012. She said she would use her degree to "better people's lives through bio informatics research, biomedical devices, or gene treatment." 

* Caitlin Kawaguchi is at the Global College at Long Island University and is majoring in global studies. She graduated from California High in 2011. She said she wants to "pursue a career in international public policy, working to strengthen the connection between international human rights institutions and grassroots organizations."

* Kathryn Ahlberg Navarra is at Chico State and is majoring in psychology with a theme in contemporary health. She graduated from San Ramon Valley High in 2007. She has a series of goals, but after she graduates she said she would like to "work in a collaborative private practice, specializing in teens and young children, using art and equine therapy when possible."

* Jamie Lynn Noon is at Arizona State University and is majoring in graphic information technology. She graduated from San Ramon Valley High in 2003. She said she plans to "seek a full-time position comprising user experience/user interface (UX/UI) design and usability research."

* Elisabeth Rose Pfeiffer is enrolled at Scripps College and is majoring in creative nonfiction writing and environmental analysis. She graduated from San Ramon Valley High in 2010. She hopes to use her skills as a journalist analyzing issues that affect us all.

* Taylor Nicole Rascano is enrolled at Cal State East Bay where she is going for a Bachelor of Science in health sciences.  She graduated from California High in 2010. She said her "passion for human health and wellness led to (her) decision to pursue a career in public health." She is the branch's candidate for the Jane Trittipo Scholarship.

* Raquel Camille Royal attends the University of Texas at Austin where she is majoring in architecture. She graduated from San Ramon Valley High in 2012. After going to Mexico to build houses she said she wants to "help people in Third World countries by designing and building simple, affordable, climate-appropriate structures that blend in with the local environment." She is the branch's first Creative Endeavors Scholarship Winner.

* Kendall A. Vignaroli is enrolled at Seattle Pacific University where she is majoring in physiology, chemistry and Spanish. She graduated from San Ramon Valley High in 2012. She said she would "feel most fulfilled doing medical work in an impoverished country."

* Rebecca Yanes attends Stanford University where she is majoring in mathematical and computational science. She graduated from Monte Vista High in 2011. She plans to use her concentration in operations research to help build a bridge between academic and corporate technical analysis. 


Like this comment
Posted by Lynn
a resident of Danville
on Jun 7, 2014 at 11:18 am

Congratulations to all of AAUW's Local Scholarship winners. It's exciting to know that each of you are out there contributing to the world and flourishing.

B. Lynn Goodwin-Brown
AAUW Local Scholarship Chair for 2014

Sorry, but further commenting on this topic has been closed.

Salami, Salami … Baloney
By Tom Cushing | 23 comments | 682 views

Time for new collaboration between city and school district
By Tim Hunt | 2 comments | 499 views