Drivers headed for Speedo Cup | October 17, 2008 | Danville Express | |

Danville Express

Sports - October 17, 2008

Drivers headed for Speedo Cup

The 680 Drivers 7th-8th Grade Boys Water Polo Team qualified Oct. 5 for the 2008 National Speedo Cup Championships in Ann Arbor, Mich., by beating Lamorinda WP, 9-4, and Stanford WP, 11-4, to win the Pacific Zone Qualifier. This is the second year in a row that the 680 Drivers will be representing the Pacific Zone at the Speedo Cup. Last year they placed fourth. The 08 Speedo Cup, being played Nov. 7-9, is one of most prized events in the U.S. Water Polo Organization.

The 680 Drivers team members are Grant Garcia, Andrew Shutt, Connor Thompson, Ryan Auker, Andrew Parese, Samuel Yorke, Brian Roudnev, Spencer Creed, Alex O'Laughlin, Nick Pasichuke, Tyler Martin, Tucker Angelo, Colin Chiapello and Coach Mundy (Matthew Mundelius).