21 take out papers for Alamo town council | December 5, 2008 | Danville Express | DanvilleSanRamon.com |


Danville Express

Newsfront - December 5, 2008

21 take out papers for Alamo town council

Candidacy needs to be filed by 5 p.m. today

As of Tuesday, 21 Alamo residents had taken out papers to run for the first town council in case the vote passes March 3 for incorporation. Voting will be held in the same election for incorporation and for town council.

The 21 people who have taken out papers, in order of date, are Karl Niyati, Joseph Alexander Rubay, Dennis Eugene Johnson, Lawrence G. Kaye, Vishwas D. More, Stephan Alan Mick, Vicki Lee Koc, Edward M. Chiverton, Tejbir S. Khanna, Randall Evan Nahas, David Glenn Bowlby, Karen E. McPherson, Diane M. Barley, Tina Schumann, Bradley Harold Waite, Kevin G. Morrow, Roger Floyd Smith, Grace Lorraine Schmidt, Leroy P. Connelly, Bradley C. Stribling and John W. Morrow.

In the March election, if incorporation passes, the two candidates with the most votes will serve four-year council terms; the three candidates with the next most votes will serve two-year terms. The council members will choose among themselves for the first mayor, which will be a rotating position.

As of Tuesday, only candidate Vishwas D. More had filed the papers.

The deadline to file papers to run for the position is 5 p.m. Dec. 5, then Dec. 6-15 is the public review period for the candidates' statements of qualifications. On Dec. 11 the Secretary of State will conduct a drawing of the letters of the alphabet to determine the order in which candidates will appear on the ballot. Write-in candidates can take out papers from Jan. 5-Feb. 17.

-Dolores Fox Ciardelli