16 running for town council in Alamo | December 12, 2008 | Danville Express | DanvilleSanRamon.com |


Danville Express

Newsfront - December 12, 2008

16 running for town council in Alamo

Election scheduled for March 3

by Dolores Fox Ciardelli

It's final. The deadline passed at 5 p.m., Friday, Dec. 5, and 16 people are running for the five town council positions in Alamo.

The town of Alamo will come into existence only if residents of the census-designated area vote to incorporate. The election is March 3.

The candidates and their listed occupations are as follows:

* Diane M. Barley, banker

* Bob Connelly, retired commercial banker

* Dennis Johnson, business owner

* Vicki Koc, community volunteer

* Karen McPherson, manager, telecommunications

* Steve Mick, retired university administrator

* Vishwas (Vish) More, retired chief engineer

* John W. Morrow, retired/engineer/manager

* Kevin G. Morrow, insurance professional

* Randy Nahas, engineer/property manager

* Karl K. Niyati, retired hospital administrator

* Joseph "Joe" A. Rubay, businessman

* Grace Schmidt, retired administrator

* Roger Smith, business/property owner

* Brad Stribling, retired electronics executive

* Brad Waite, CEO mortgage banker

In the March election, if incorporation passes, the two candidates with the most votes will serve four-year council terms; the three candidates with the next most votes will serve two-year terms. The council members will choose among themselves for the first mayor, which will be a rotating position.

The deadline to file papers to run for the position was Dec. 5, then Dec. 6-15 is the public review period for the candidates' statements of qualifications. On Dec. 11 the Secretary of State will conduct a drawing of the letters of the alphabet to determine the order in which candidates will appear on the ballot.

Write-in candidates can take out papers from Jan. 5-Feb. 17. Absentee voting will begin Feb. 2.