Danville resident nominated for 2009 California Hall Of Fame | January 2, 2009 | Danville Express | DanvilleSanRamon.com |


Danville Express

Newsfront - January 2, 2009

Danville resident nominated for 2009 California Hall Of Fame

Young golfer adds honor to his long list of triumphs

MJ Mc Colgan, who has won gold medals in golf at regional, state and national Special Olympics, has been nominated for the 2009 California Hall Of Fame.

Conceived by First Lady Maria Shriver, the California Hall of Fame was established along with the California Museum for History, Women and the Arts to honor individuals and families who embody California's innovative spirit and have made their mark on history.

Mc Colgan, a 2002 graduate of San Ramon Valley High School, was born with a walking disability and competes with his dad Mike Mc Colgan in the Ryder Cup Alternate Shot format for Special Olympics Northern California with the use of a golf cart. The father and son team also has co-authored five golf books.

He is also a Global Ambassador and helped Special Olympics Northern California raise $1 million last year by giving speeches to businesses and organizations about winning and overcoming adversity.

"The golf keeps my legs moving," said MJ Mc Colgan. "I love the competition and winning never gets old."

Mc Colgan will go for his ninth straight Northern California State Championship this year and has won three National Championships. He also participated in the 2003 World Games in Ireland and 2007 World Games in China. He was inducted into the 2004 San Francisco Hall Of Fame and the 2006 Hall of Fame in Michigan, where he was born.

"Although our house is filled with many gold medals, the most important thing we have taught MJ is to focus on his abilities and not his disability," said mother Linda Mc Colgan.

The 2008 inductees into the California Museum's California Hall of Fame were recently announced by Dina Eastwood, who is chairwoman of the California Museum and wife of 2006 inductee Clint Eastwood.

In its third year, the California Hall of Fame is sponsored by Chevron and Accenture. This year's inductees are Dave Brubeck, Jane Fonda, Theodor Geisel (Dr. Suess), Robert Graham, Quincy Jones, Jack LaLanne, Dorothea Lange, Julia Morgan, Jack Nicholson, Linus Pauling, Leland Stanford and Alice Waters. Past inductees include Tiger Woods, Steve Jobs, Ronald Reagan and Elizabeth Taylor.